write

Just Write

In the past 5 years, I have maintained 3 blogs, 2 of which are private and only accessible to a few. At that time, it didn’t appeal to me to open my blog to the public. A blog to me was a personal journal and meant only for those I know. It was not because I was distrusting or secretive that’s why I kept my blogs private. I was just very cautious with what I write and who reads what I write, and I know that most of what we write can be misinterpreted or misconstrued by people who do not know us well. More than distrust, it was caution, and I was a very cautious, if not, critical person.

I started blogging when I was in first year college. Blogging then wasn’t as explosive as it is now. I liken a blog to a friend, only that it doesn’t talk back. But it has become like my best friend over the years, and I write as much as I could, in the same way I write on my personal journal.

Now my journal is different. I have kept over 20 journals for the past 10 years or so. As kids, they were called diaries (the “Dear Diary” Purefoods commercial influenced my own diary writing). I would write about family, God, school, love, heartache, love, love and love. I guess you could say, I still write about the same things, but not in that order anymore. My diaries were usually tear-soaked rants about anything and everything. But as with all things, we change and grow up and so does our manner of writing. My writing has evolved into one of personal reflection and careful observation of the things around me, and of what God is teaching me.

Five years and hundreds of entries later, I realized just how extensive and influential blogs have become. Blogs are now used to advertise, to market, to sell, to degrade, to bash other people, to promote propagandas, and so on and so forth. Blogs have invaded and completely transformed our modern literature, the way texting did with its alien-like language. Everyone has a voice now, and we don’t need to be published in the newspaper to be read or heard.

There are many reasons people blog, many reasons people write. My reasons are simple:

1) I write because I know I can. I call it a discipline: not everyone has the discipline to write day in and day out. It takes a conscientious, committed and passionate person to keep writing.

2) I write because it is in this manner that I communicate best with people. Some people are born with the natural gift of communication. I got mine from my mom who is also a writer.

3) I write because I want to reach out to a lost world and I want to share with them my life, my story, and what I have been learning. I don’t pretend to assume all readers would care at all about my story, but that won’t stop me from writing.

4) I write because I consider writing a form of healing. It’s therapeutic. My friends and my family can’t always be there for me every time I need them. When I need to express what I feel, I put them down in writing so I can articulate my thoughts, process my feelings, and in some way, heal.

5) Lastly, I write because I love to. I write at home, at church, at school, at work, at the mall, in some deserted, abandoned shack (really, I’ve done that before), at the playground, at the beach, everywhere!

This is the first entry of my first-ever public blog. I am excited for this blog and me to grow. Hopefully, we will also meet new friends ;-)

Welcome KZ!

2 thoughts on “Just Write

  1. kz! hehe. this is perfect:D now you have an outlet for all those writings. I know u’ve been wrting, and blogging for years, on multiply and personal blog sites, but to share more of your wrting to an even more extensive group of people, cool! gudluck inspiring more with your “words”. :D

Leave a Reply

