everyday life · love · personal · write

the week that was

I’m in the process of writing a blog on why I prefer McCain over Obama a month after that historic US Election, which is no more a promised blog to others than it is to myself. I think it helps when you concretize your opinion so that anytime somebody asks you what your stand is, you don’t get lopsided in your arguments and you’re not caught off guard. But writing about it is actually taking more time than I thought. I was reading Francis Schaeffer’s article two days ago and then added Randy Alcorn to the list, and the amount of information I need is so overwhelming that I thought to myself, “why the heck am I fussing about this blog anyway?”

It’s true: it’s been a month since Obama’s victory, and I am sure countless blogs have been written on that. But I didn’t actually have a say on his win except for his opponent McCain’s concession speech, which was actually more a show of sympathy than it is a blog. And I’m no political expert either, so what I would be offering on that blog (to already dispel whatever thoughts people have of it being exceptional or whatever) is not an analysis of the impact of his victory to the US or even to the Philippines. It’s just something that comes straight from my heart: why is it that I don’t prefer Obama over McCain? What is it about McCain that makes me say he would make the better president? What did I have to consider when choosing between two equally great personalities? What was that one factor that I found in McCain that I could not find in Obama?

Well I will have to leave you guys hanging lest I give out all the details of the blog (which I’m not sure I’ll be able to finish again this week because, woohoo, I’m heading to Davao!)

In the meantime, I’m just writing to do a little recap on the week that was.

1.    I got a surprise last night, and when I say surprise, it’s not your “just-a-little-surprise” kind of thing. It’s the kind of surprise that makes you fall off your chair. I’m serious. I was so caught off guard, I was like, “Where did this come from?!”

2.    I’m beginning to gain some weight again. I’ve always been inconsistent with this whole weight watch (and I never really plan to go on weight gain or loss because it just happens), but tonight, while window-shopping with Miggie at Serenda, I was reminded that Hanna’s wedding was only a month or so. And I still need major tummy-tucking so I don’t look preggers in my dress.

3.    I’m currently enjoying this online social “tambayan” called Plurk, and it works for me because I do a lot of monologues. When I want to just say something, and either I cannot say it out loud or will not devote one entire blog for it, I just have to “plurk it” and throw that thought out into the void. It’s very therapeutic. Haha.

4.    I love my work. Let’s leave it at that.

5.    I read a quote from Oswald Chambers very recently, and it reminded me so much of where I stand now and how susceptible I can be. He said, “It is perilously easy to have amazing sympathy over God’s truth and remain in sin.” I don’t even have to look towards others. I just have to look at myself and nod in agreement.

6.    I really want to do something extraordinary for the holidays, or just on a regular day. I was discussing with Miggie how I’d love to do pottery or something artsy-fartsy, and then with Alps on how I want to take advantage of PAL’s no frills travel, but so far they’re all just ideas. Ano kaya ang pwede pang gawin?

7.    I’m thankful to God for new beginnings, and this week made me realize the magnitude of that truth. Looking back, this year hasn’t really been that great, you know. I mean, it all started one January morning and it’s almost the end of the year and it feels like it’s only been yesterday. Heartaches do have a way of making days seem longer. But I’m thankful to God that for everyday that I wake up, his promises of renewal, strength and just that daily comfort embrace me. There is so much to be thankful for, and one of them is waking up to a new day.

Well, that’s all for now. It’s work again (and yes, it’s an “I’m excited for Monday!” attitude). Before I go, let me leave you with this verse.

It is of the LORD’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness. – Lamentations 3:22-23

Leave a Reply

