Crime · news and current affairs · Philippines · thoughts

On Ted Failon and the apparent obstruction of Justice

How pathetic is it to see the police arrest Ted Failon’s in-laws for apparent “obstruction of justice” when they of all people are the most credible witness/testimony to this Failon crisis. Take it from his wife’s sister who overheard the discussion the night before and who saw firsthand her sister writing the letter. No, in fact, take it from the daughter who knows both her mom and dad more than these stupid policemen will ever do. She announced on National TV, difficult it is to admit it, that her mom committed suicide. Tantanan niyo na sila, please lang. They are going through so much pain! I’ll use Kaye Failon’s words, “Kalokohan lahat ito.”

What I hate is how they were “forcibly taken” as if they’re attempting to hide from the police. In fact, when I saw on TV how aggressive the police were, at my kasama pang batok sa ulo, my blood boils I could say bad words and not feel bad about it. As if that’s not enough, they were even handcuffed and whisked out of the hospital like criminals. Even the maid and the driver were treated that way. I wish I wasn’t this mad, but when I saw on TV how they were not treated properly, I mean, WHAT THE HELL IS THIS?  They’re supposed to be invited for questioning, not turned in and arrested like criminals. That’s why I never look at some policemen here in the Philippines with respect. They don’t understand human rights and due process. Some think they know the law well enough, but they don’t. Everyone should be given the benefit of the doubt.

Please be human enough and allow the family to GRIEVE first. I asked my lawyer friend Kuya Benj if it’s SOP to handcuff people when they’re supposed to be brought in for question. He said only when aggression or hostility is shown should they be cuffed. But not before a warrant of arrest is made. My other best friend Tia who’s taking law also told me it’s in the Bill of rights and Rights of the accused. If there is no warrant, the police cannot force them to go with them. It’s that simple, right?

I think this is the real obstruction of justice. Anyway, this is why i will never make a good lawyer. I’m way too emotional.

Kuya Benjo got scared when I started asking him questions. I haven’t told him at first I was referring to the Failon case, he thought I was in trouble. “Hmmmmmm you shouldn’t ask those kinds of questions late at night. People usually text lawyers those questions when they’re getting arrested na. You scared me.” So sorry Kuya Benj. If I do find myself arrested, you’d be the first person I’d call. ;p

4 thoughts on “On Ted Failon and the apparent obstruction of Justice

  1. what a shame! it smacks of selective justice. if it happened in the household of ex-con romeo jaloshos or any pro-administration ally, the authorities would have handled the situation very differently and secretary of injustice raul gonzales wouldn’t have issued a travel ban on anybody. right from the start, ted failon has been presumed guilty and treated accordingly.

  2. “GESTAPO” Quezon City Police Department STYLE… How to arrest humans in Quezon City. Not only are these so called arresting officers dumb and stupid, they have no respect for their “uniforms” and “my country-the Philippines”. Dapat itong mga ito ang ikulong for “destruction of peace and justice.” In front of a camera, sasabihing wala silang “warrant of arrest” pero kailangan nilang arestuhin ang mga tao. UTOS NINO???? Nag press conference pa ang makakapal to display their ignorance! I hope that these “gestapos” are not QCPD’s best and finest. Nakakahiya!

  3. you are right on all points, Jey. While watching the video on the maid/drivers being whisked out of the house, and with their lawyers beside asking the police where the warrants are, she didn’t get a single answer. and then hours later, the police defends it and says before the public, it’s SOP for them to read the Miranda rights. But what rights? They didn’t even recite these rights, let alone say a word, because I am sure they have nothing to say anyway. I do hope they’re not the best and finest of QCPD. I shudder to think they represent a whole lot of our country’s police force.

  4. to Plaridel: Selective justice indeed. Right from the start pinapalabas ng “guilty” si Ted Failon. (ABS on the other hand is doing the opposite). and that blacklist/travel ban, that’s RIDICULOUS. Some people are just so exaggerated on their reactions.

Leave a Reply

