thoughts

And the fool never learned.

I was deep into finishing my deadline for this day when, out of my own folly, I came across an unwanted picture. I stared at it for a few seconds, and my heart sank. I hate it when my hunches are proven right. I hate having to tell myself, “I told you so.” I guess the fool never learned.

Immediately, I uttered a short prayer so I could quiet myself down as I contemplate on the unwanted scenario. I was right. I was always right about it. Always learn to trust a woman’s instinct to know when and who —and I only have this lesson for me now: The fool (in this case, the real fool behind that picture), never learned. When I’m less emotional, I would blog more on this.

Here’s a collection of proverbs for the Fool.

  • A desire fulfilled is sweet to the soul, but to turn away from evil is an abomination to fools. – Proverbs 13:19
  • Leave the presence of a fool, for there you do not meet words of knowledge. – Proverbs 14:7
  • The wisdom of the prudent is to discern his way, but the folly of fools is deceiving. – Proverbs 14:8
  • The heart of him who has understanding seeks knowledge, but the mouths of fools feed on folly. – Proverbs 15:14
  • A rebuke goes deeper into a man of understanding than a hundred blows into a fool. – Proverbs 17:10
  • He who sires a fool gets himself sorrow, and the father of a fool has no joy. – Proverbs 17:21
  • Do not speak in the hearing of a fool, for he will despise the good sense of your words. – Proverbs 23:9
  • Like snow in summer or rain in harvest, so honor is not fitting for a fool. – Proverbs 26:1
  • Like a dog that returns to his vomit is a fool who repeats his folly. – Proverbs 26:11

 

P.S
I especially liked the part where fools are likened to dogs. Don’t we have a saying that dogs are like men? I don’t mean to generalize. If you think you don’t have canine features, good for you!

Leave a Reply

