Christianity · everyday life · God · Life Lessons · personal · religion · thoughts · Walk with God

Youth and Responsibility – A take on 2 Timothy 4:12

“Let no man despise thy youth; but be thou an example of the believers, in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity.”

I continue my streak of being “the youngest” in almost every group, organization and affiliation that I join or am part of. At 23 when I started in Synergeia, I was the youngest Program officer at work. In my growth group of young adults (PGIF), I am also the youngest. In the Bible Study Fellowship (BSF) leadership of 30 women, at 24, I was the youngest leader. Today, I attended my very first Board of Trustees meeting, and yes, I am the youngest, at 25. It’s actually funny how this came about. A month or so ago, I got a text from one of our church leaders that in a special council meeting, I was nominated to be part of the Board of Trustees of the Spurgeon School Foundation, the education arm of IBC. It was an honor to be nominated, but my very first reaction was, “Am I qualified?”

More than the responsibility, it’s the qualifications that cause me to be a little apprehensive. I didn’t actually know what the qualifications were until today when I read the By-laws. The responsibility doesn’t scare me because I don’t know what to expect in the first place. But I was encouraged by many people to take on this challenge as it not only is a growing opportunity, but more, an opportunity to serve God through the ministry of Spurgeon. And I admit. There are many other things that I don’t know but am willing to learn.

So today was the first BOT meeting for the year and today also happened to be the Election of the officers among the members of the Board. I was elected (and very fitting as I’m just a newbie) as Recording Secretary. Minutes! Well, we do that at work all the time.

My first BOT experience was a learning experience and a lot of fun. When I arrived in church, like I said, I didn’t know what to expect. I knew we were going to plan for the school year, and I knew there were going to be motions to file and proposals to approve and motions to second. And it turns out to be quite a collaborative exercise, with everyone being given the chance to speak up and participate. And being a board member is a big responsibility as we decide on matters of the school. It’s serious work, I should not kid myself.

And let’s talk about my youth. I was heartily welcomed by the old and new members alike. They’re actually all my kuyas, titos, titas, and ates in church, so they know me as I grew up in church. I don’t want to think anyone would look down on my youth as certainly my youth didn’t get me here. I’m just thankful for the opportunity to even be part of the leadership. And as an encouragement, our Singles Coordinator Kuya Joel told me this afternoon that I am one of the “young guns” of this batch of leaders, a young person who is good enough to be able to compete with older more experienced people. Isn’t that a wonderful encouragement? While I may not entirely know how and why I got in, I take it that this opportunity was sent by God.

So thank you, Lord, for giving me things that are beyond me. I know this requires a lot of sacrifice of time and energy, but more importantly, it requires humility and faith.

Here’s to an exciting year with the BOT! :)

3 thoughts on “Youth and Responsibility – A take on 2 Timothy 4:12

  1. this is great news. for all intents and purposes, they need new blood. you can give them fresh directions. when the going gets tough, take time to pause and ponder, ok? don’t forget to breathe. :)

Leave a Reply

