Christianity · personal · questions · religion · thoughts · Walk with God

I take with me these three things

I cast all my cares upon you, Abba, because You care for me. 1 Peter 5:7

I’m leaving for KL in a while. I’m attending the BSF-Asia Pacific Leaders Retreat. I’m excited because it will be a gathering of more than 2,000 leaders all over Asia. As Liselle put it, “a fraction of heaven’s population”. I’m looking forward to being blessed by the Word of God, and to be blessed by the people I would meet at this God-appointed time.

But while I look forward to this, I also have some things I need to attend to. Do you notice how problems seem to compound when you’re about to serve the Lord? Just yesterday and today, we had three emergency prayer requests from three of our leaders. All three of them got sick and are hoping they have enough energy to join the retreat. One had to go to the hospital; another one just came back from Bangkok and is under the weather; still another is down with flu. This is spiritual warfare.

I am also going through some things right now. I’m not sick, but I’m weighed down by my current situation and my heart is troubled. This led me to wake up very early today to seek God and lay down these cares before him. I have too many problems and this week they were magnified a hundred times, just when I’m about to leave for KL. I sought God and I was led to 1 Samuel 29 and 30, where David faced a similar problem. He was overwhelmed by the things happening to him (the attack of the Amalekites and the kidnapping of the women and their sons and daughters, including his two wives). And he faced a much graver threat as people were ready to stone him in grief.

Yet David did not let his circumstance dictate how he should feel or respond. Despite being in a dark situation, he chose the better solution which is found in verse 6. He “encouraged himself in the Lord.” And I thought about that. How does one encourage himself in the Lord?

One is to recall God’s faithfulness and remember his help in the past. Too many times in my life I have sought God in desperation, and he never once failed me. He comes through just at the right time. And you know, sometimes it’s easier to doubt than believe that. And I’m fighting that. I don’t want to be led by my doubts on God’s goodness. And because He is good, He knows exactly when to come through for you and how to come through for you. When I recall how God helped me in the past, I’m encouraged and comforted because God never changes. If he helped me then, he would help me now. He has always been after our best interest and He wants only what will bring glory to him.

So right now, as I wait to board the plane, I put down my worries. I want to leave everything behind me and just enjoy God’s goodness. He will come. His help will come. He will see me through. I take comfort in this verse found in Psalm 18:30-31,

As for God, His way is perfect; The word of the LORD is proven; He is a shield to all who trust in Him. For who is God, except the LORD? And who is a rock, except our God?”

His word is proven.

He is a shield to all who trust in Him.

He is God.

I take only these three things with me as I go to KL.

Leave a Reply

