Bible · Christianity · God · Walk with God

A Modern Acts 2:42

“They devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to the fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer.” – Acts 2:42

Today was the first official meet of our still unnamed group composed of myself, Meryll, Ace and Jomar. We’re still praying more people would join us but in the meantime, small is good. Planned months ago, this is an answered prayer because I have been wanting for so long to have a group in IBC that I can worship, fellowship and pray with. Hence, WFP. In short, a committed growth group that caters to our age bracket, the Young Pros.

I’ve always been a believer in small groups and I know its importance to a growing Christian. Having been discipled in a similar group back in college when I was part of Campus Crusade for Christ, I’ve seen how small groups have led to a believer’s equipping in the ministry and eventually to a personal growth in her relationship with God. I’ve also experienced the joy of being accountable to a group of people who are committed to pray with and for you, and look after your needs. A small group is vital for a Christian. Just consider: even Jesus had a group all to himself that he ministered to. These were his closest friends who would carry out his commands later on. But for years now, I’ve been looking for a group and have found none, leading me to find it elsewhere in a separate group. But this is my church family and this is where I serve. Finally, after praying for God’s leading, I have found a second family, a second home. And I am so blessed to have a new family!

We have not decided on what material we would use but in the meantime, we have devoted to prayer. I told Ace a while back, “I feel guilty that I have not been praying for the church as I should.” If I complain about the lack I see in church, shouldn’t I be doing something to address that, at least my little part?

And after tonight’s simple fellowship through games and prayer, I was led to Acts 2:42-47 about the Fellowship of the believers. What is true fellowship and what are its aims? Paul tells us that the believers devoted themselves to “to the apostles’ teaching and to the fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer.” Not only were they devoted to these things, they also shared everything they had to one another, “as he had need.” They met “everyday in the temple courts” and “broke bread in their homes and ate together with glad and sincere hearts.” And because of this devotion, God blessed them by “adding to their number daily those who were being saved.” (Acts 2:42-47)

Isn’t that just an amazing picture of what true fellowship is? There is devotion to what matters to God: His Word and His people. The goal was that in the end, their devotion to God would cause them to be devoted to one another. Which is similar to the greatest commandment in the bible. “Jesus replied: ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” (Matt 22:37-40)

What I’ve learned tonight are very simple but important truths about fellowship. True fellowship involves teaching of God’s word, constant and regular meeting to pray, and looking out after one another’s needs. I also learned that sincere fellowship makes the heart glad. If we meet every Thursday, then we could say every Thursday we would have a glad heart! I also learned that the home is a good place for fellowship and I will continually open our home to be a place of ministry. And the most important truth I’m taking with me tonight is that because of these, God will bless and save those that are being ministered to in our group.

The scripture says that the believers were filled with “awe and wonders and miraculous signs.” And my prayer is for the same experience, that as we meet every week we would continually be in awe of God and experience miracles in our lives, by his grace. :-)

2 thoughts on “A Modern Acts 2:42

  1. Hi KZ, it’s really encouraging to know that you have a little group of people who come together to pray. Indeed, it’s important that we devote our time in prayers. The Lord is Happy when we spend time with HIM and HIS people. I am sure the Lord will bless you and your group :) Let’s continue to serve and praise HIM.

Leave a Reply

