Christianity · everyday life · God · Jesus · Life Lessons · personal · thoughts · Walk with God · write

Changing colors

I was looking at my mood ring today as it turned to light blue and light purple. A minute ago, it was dark purple and green. How does that happen? For starters, I don’t believe in mood rings. I’m just intrigued by the whole changing of colors which I can’t explain. They say it changes depending on what our emotion is or what we currently feel. I don’t know about that, because if purple means I’m feeling romantic, that’s far from what I’m feeling today. If blue means I’m at peace, that’s the opposite.

But I thought about changing colors or changing moods that happen regularly to people, and our mood or disposition is greatly affected by our surroundings and present circumstances. Today, I feel a little stressed and rushed from trying to finish my last requirement for Masters. I stayed up until the wee hours of the morning and felt I couldn’t extract any creative juice anymore from my brain. So I stopped and decided I’d get a good night’s rest so that tomorrow I can write better. I also woke up feeling tired, which I think is due to the summer heat. I love summer because it evokes rest, leisure and fun. But the heat can really be unbearable and instead of rest, it gets us exhausted.

Our moods change. Our dispositions change. Things around us change. But here’s a truth that remains unchanging. God never changes; He remains constant, steady, present. Malachi 3:6 says, “For I am the LORD, I do not change; Therefore you are not consumed, O sons of Jacob.” Hebrews 13:8 adds, “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.”

And because He is unchanging, I am confident that whatever changes happen to us, no matter how our dispositions change, no matter what circumstances we face, no matter how bad our day is, God remains as our constant help. And unlike the Beatles song, he does not “love us more today than yesterday.” No, he loves us constantly. This is the God I want to trust with my whole heart. 

2 thoughts on “Changing colors

  1. if those mood rings really work, there should be a law requiring women to wear them. it would be nice if they glow, too, since we’re always left in the dark about their current emotional state. :)

Leave a Reply

