Christianity · everyday life · God · personal · religion · thoughts · Walk with God

Holding on to 1 Thessalonians 5

And we urge you, brothers and sisters, warn those who are idle and disruptive, encourage the disheartened, help the weak, be patient with everyone. Make sure that nobody pays back wrong for wrong, but always strive to do what is good for each other and for everyone else.

 Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

Do not quench the Spirit. Do not treat prophecies with contempt but test them all; hold on to what is good, reject every kind of evil.

Before I left the house, I opened my Bible and was led to 1 Thessalonians 5. It seems apt that I should have this command today, because of the present situation I’m currently in. Rejoice always. Pray continually. Give thanks. Strive to do what is good. Reject every kind of evil.

The pressures at work can make us do otherwise. Instead of rejoicing at work, we complain. Instead of praying, we fret and worry about the demands put on us. Instead of doing what is good, we think negative thoughts and become our worst possible self. But I held onto God’s commands and promises today. And as the day is about to end for me, I am just in complete awe.

First, all my prayer requests relating to my project this week were answered one by one. I’ve been praying to God the whole week about this and have spent many a nights crying for a good outcome and for everything to be ironed out.  Work has been hard on me these days, but I’ve come to understand that when we commit to God everything we do, He blesses us. The truth that work is an extension of our spiritual lives is sinking deep into my heart. Everything is sacred to God. Just that change in perspective alone makes a whole lot of difference to the work we produce. Also, I’ve mended some relationships at work, which, to be honest, if not for this command and God’s spirit in me, I would probably not even care about initially. 

And my lesson today? Prayer makes a big difference! Tried and tested. And because of today’s very victorious example, this calls for longer prayer times every morning. When we start our day right with God, He blesses us the rest of the day. He does this because we relied on Him and made him our priority. It’s such a good feeling to know that we can bring God delight in these little acts of faith.

So I am holding on to Thessalonians 5. And to the Word of God that is living, breathing, active.


One thought on “Holding on to 1 Thessalonians 5

  1. Thank you for sharing this, KZ! The passage really speaks to me :) Hope the rest of your work week turns out well! God bless :D ♥

Leave a Reply

