Uncategorized

“It wasn’t always this way.”

I saw this video of Cathy and her team before and thought the short film was spot on. The movie tells of the different stages couples (or people in general) go through in the course of their relationship. They first start as strangers, where all of us start off with everyone else in our lives. And then they pick up to the Chase, to Honeymoon, to Comfortable, and then to Downhill, and Tolerance. Finally, to breakup. It’s a sad cycle that we see in many of our relationships. I’ve see it in mine.

Today, while I was browsing through a friend’s page, I saw the video again. I watched it again and it just kind of explained what was going on in my life right now. The video helped me put to words what I’ve been trying to define for many months now. As in the story, someone in my life stopped “trying”.

Whether it’s taking each other for granted, or people changing over time, the bottom line is: someone stops trying. – Josh

It’s a sad thing to realize that we do that to many of our relationships. We don’t ‘try to make it work’ anymore. We just lose any amount of effort we can give to “up” the relationship. We take people for granted. I’m not one to do that to my friends. I’m a people-person; I give it my all in relationships. I know that to make a relationship strong, we have to be intentional. We have to WANT to be in that person’s life, to be there for that person, to share life with that person. The reason friendships fall apart is because people start taking each other for granted.

And for months now, I’ve been in a state of silent grief because someone I used to matter to stopped trying, and I feel I no longer mattered. I probably was just a phase to him. I’m trying to deal with that because I know things and people change, but it doesn’t have to be that way if we only were more intentional. If you keep taking people for granted, guess what, they’ll be gone before you know it.

I don’t know. Josh was right. “It wasn’t always this way.” What changed?

2 thoughts on ““It wasn’t always this way.”

  1. *Hugs* Totally relate with you. What changed nga naman, I wonder? Definitely not easy to suddenly shift from a “somebody” to a “nobody” … =/

    In my case, I can only (really) hope for God’s peace, coz that’s the only thing left that’s intentional, efficient and constant. Sakit nga lang, and I get my bitter outbursts … but it will take time.

    I hope you find the answer to “what changed” or “what happened” … in the meantime, I wish you peace and comfort ♥

  2. Thank you, Nikki. :) When people’s feelings about you change, it’s unsettling, diba? You used to be a somebody to that person…and you’re right, to be a nobody hurts. a lot.

Leave a Reply

