personal

Time for Departures

I feel this way today, hearing news of friends who are leaving, either on vacation, on race competitions abroad, or for good. It’s sad because though I know that everyone will be back again soon (some after a year), that’s 365 days without seeing each other, 8,760 hours, 525,600 minutes and 31,536,000 seconds. Yeah, I must really be sad. The thing is, it makes my own departure even closer than it actually is. Because by the time I leave for Palawan, everyone else is at some country and there’s just so little time now to spend with friends. Over twitter I told Kay and Meryll that ate Jem is already in Manila by Sunday. It’s not that I’m unhappy about it; it just makes Palawan closer.

I am excited for a new life but it does get you anxious in many, many ways. And any moving out is always a life-changer. You move out of everything you hold familiar, all your friends, your family, your hobbies —and despite still being in the same country, you’re just…absent from everyone else. Don’t get me wrong; I’m still excited. It’s just going to be, well, different.

How do we best spend the time we are given with our friends?

Leave a Reply

