personal

Ponytails, yogurts, and the choice to follow God

Photo lifted from: www.cookingclassy.com
Photo lifted from: http://www.cookingclassy.com

I spent the last hour or so in front of the mirror trying to decide whether to tie my hair in a ponytail or bun or to let it all down. Whether I should wear pearls, or some funky accessory to add life to the monochromatic ensemble that is my attire for tomorrow’s meeting with a prospect business partner. I couldn’t decide for a long time —still haven’t. Should I go for classic or bohemian? That seemed to be the all-too important question of the night. Oh, women.

I happened to see (as in visually stalk) the person I’m meeting tomorrow, thanks to his Facebook message to our page. So yes, call me vain, but the desire to look good was greater today than usual. So much so that I spent a considerably long time in front of the mirror trying to decide if the look was too casual, or just about right. What a perfect time to have a zit ready to pop! Ugh.

Choices. The last few days have all been about choices for me. The other day I was at the mall with Mitch and we tried out this dessert place called Icepot, a do-it-yourself froyo shop that has expanded its store very recently. I was overwhelmed by the choices presented to us in those few minutes. Chocolate flavor, regular, vanilla, strawberry. Your choice of toppings —a variety of nuts, some colorful candies, fruits ranging from sweet to sour, chocolates wrapped and melted. In a sort of frenzy, I just randomly picked and tried out anything, which cost me more. The yogurt was weighed by the grams, and because I had not been careful in my choices, I ended up paying a pretty large sum of money for a yogurt dessert. It wasn’t bad —I liked my dessert. But if I had made better choices, that is, if I took time to decide, I would have saved more and would have enjoyed without guilt.

Choices. Life presents us many different choices everyday. What to wear, where to eat, how to do our hair. If we decide on a whim, regrets come. If we choose without careful thinking, mistakes also come. And so do lessons. Last Sunday we touched on 1 Samuel 15, when God rejected Saul as King of Israel. Saul had a choice to make when He was given a commandment from God. His choice was simple: to follow God’s commands, or to disobey. Whether people shared the blame with him or not is inconsequential. The fact is, he disobeyed. He made the wrong choice and sinned against God. Consequences were to follow.

Whether our choices be just for what flavor our dessert should be, or to let down our hair or not–may we remember that everything has consequences –some, if not, eternal. The choice to follow God, for one –has serious eternal implications. To quote my favorite author, the apologist C.S Lewis

“A man who was merely a man and said the sort of things Jesus said would not be a great moral teacher. He would be either a lunatic ā€” on a level with the man who says he is a poached egg ā€” or else he would be the Devil of Hell. You must make your choice. Either this man was, and is, the Son of God: or else a madman or something worse. You can shut Him up for a fool, you can spit at Him and kill Him as a demon; or you can fall at His feet and call Him Lord and God. But let us not come with any patronising nonsense about His being a great human teacher. He has not left that open to us. He did not intend to.ā€

Leave a Reply

