personal

Love’s choices

This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. (1 John 4:9)

So there I was at the mall last night, going around in circles. I didn’t know if I wanted to have dinner there, having spent the bulk of my afternoon already at the mall answering emails. Strange, even to me, the fact that I still go to a coffee shop to work and answer emails when the office is already very quiet and where I can work without distraction, but oftentimes, I just feel like escaping from the office and going to another place to work. I don’t know. It probably is the fact that if I’m out, I feel the need to be more productive because I have a limited time to the internet usage allotted in coffee shops, forcing me to just concentrate on the work at hand. Or it could be that because I work where I live, I need some space. Whatever the case, there I was at the mall, going from one shop to another, then to the grocery scanning items which I think I may want, or not, and just altogether being indecisive about anything.

Has that ever happened to you? Like you’re in some sort of bubble and you think, what the heck am I doing here and what am I supposed to buy again? I didn’t know if I was hungry or if I wanted to take food away. I was just stuck, indecisive. Eventually, I got my act together, took food away, drove home and continued to answer some of the emails I left.

Last Sunday, Pastor Cesar talked about the choices we make everyday, some insignificant, some, very life-changing. He was right. Life is all about choices. You get up in the morning and you think about what you’re going to eat for breakfast. As soon as you’re up and have taken a shower, you think about what you’re going to wear. It was Sunday so it took me a much longer time deciding on what would be my Sunday outfit. When you’ve chosen your attire, you think about how you’ll get to church –which roads to take to avoid traffic, which road will get you faster. Decisions. Choices. He goes on to say that some choices have eternal consequences –such as where your life is headed eternally. I’m glad this topic was touched on at church today, because I feel that the discussion on the reality of heaven and hell are somewhat watered down these days. We need a constant reminder that there really are only these two destinations all of us area headed to –and however we live our lives here on Earth determines the readiness and even the direction of where we will end up in. Pastor Cesar quipped that if you aren’t used to worshiping God, guess what –that’s really all we’re going to do in heaven. And there’s so much to that discussion that I’m afraid people might oversimplify the idea of worship. Worship isn’t just singing songs on Sundays. Worship is an act of praise and honoring God –in everything. You worship God by loving people. You worship Him by obeying his commands. You worship him when you choose to forgive rather than to give in to hate and grudge. You worship him when you let go of your idols and you put Him in the throne of your heart. You worship him when you work excellently and you put to good use the time entrusted to you. You worship him when you confess your mistakes and sins, turn away and tell him you would like a restart, the way Adele did when she flubbed her Grammys tribute. Okay, maybe that idea isn’t always theologically sound –you can’t restart whenever you want without consequences.

Anyway. Today, people around are celebrating Valentines, because someone in history decided that today should be the day people celebrate love. Which of course, you can do anytime of the year, or every minute, or every day. Today, I choose not to be indecisive and instead, to worship God because He is the ultimate Lover. So many times in my life I’ve broken his heart and have grieved him for very many repeated mistakes. Yet God’s love is agape. Unconditional. Perfect. We don’t understand the extent of it because we’re used to loving with flaws and conditions. But when I look at the cross –that’s really all I need to know and understand about the depth of his love. He came and died for me. He came to give me life, to forgive me of my sins and to love me like I’ve never been loved. All these –he did for his own glory.

Thank you, Jesus, for being the exact embodiment of love. Thank you for being our heart’s completion. Thank you for choosing us first. Thank you for your saving grace, and for loving us like no one in this world could.

Leave a Reply

